Fall Wedding – A Morning in Athens

This weekend Bot and I headed to Athens, GA for a wedding.  The wedding was on a farm where the weather was predicted to be in the 80s so my concern was finding a dress that would look nice and be cool enough without being too revealing for dancing comfort. (It all comes back to dancing you see.) This Modcloth dress made the first level of cuts.

How scary is it that these are the two pictures where I'm making the least stupid faces?

[Dress – Modcloth (Birthday gift from my parents); Cardigan – Cherokee from Target (? I’ve had it for years); Heels – Merona from Target ($30); Fascinator – Hive and Honey; Necklace – Grandmother Costume Jewelry]

This dress made the first level of outfit cuts because it looks so darn good. I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it on Modcloth but at the time it was sold out.  Luckily for me, Modcloth sent me a “its back in stock” email right around my birthday which I forwarded to my mom who loved the dress too and bought it right away as my birthday present.  The dress is by Mai Tai and for the most part it is everything I wanted. The fabric is a bit thin which makes it feel a bit cheep and you have to be careful about undergarments.  Also, it has these annoying plastic straps that are meant to keep the dress on a hanger when its in your closet but for some reason they are always poking out at the most improbable angles at the most inappropriate times.  I think that I will remove them soon. I am however, so extremely happy that Modcloth has started to carry more plus size options. You can bet that I’ll be buying more as soon as I save up enough coffee tips to do so.

I eventually decided not to wear this to the wedding because the neckline has a tendency to scrunch lower than is strictly appropriate and I didn’t want to have to worry about such things while dancing.  The cardigan helps balance that, but who wants to wear a sweater while dancing right? Instead, I wore this around Athens the morning of the wedding when Bot and I went out for brunch.  We ate at the 5 Star Day Cafe, which was really well rated on Google so we decided to give it a shot. I have to say that it was absolutely amazing.  I had the vegetarian Eggs Benedict, which has fried green tomatoes instead of ham.  I cannot impress enough how very delicious it was.  Perhaps a picture will help.

I’m a southern girl, born and raised in Virginia and until January of 1998, when I became a vegetarian, I had a passionate love affair with sausage gravy. My Mawmaw made some amazing sausage gravy, let me tell you.  So its been about thirteen years since I’ve had any white pepper gravy over anything and this place did NOT disappoint. Next time you’re in the Athens area, give them a try, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

Stay tuned later this week for dress I wore to party at the farm in GA. Here’s a hint, it’s seersucker.

One thought on “Fall Wedding – A Morning in Athens

  1. Pingback: OOTD: Museum Day Trip Dress « Full Bodied Fashion

Leave a Reply

