It Is Time to Embrace Sweater Weather

I have a love hate relationship with sweaters. Well, that’s not entirely true. I love sweaters.  I always choose warm, cuddly soft, knits that feel like hugs, and until I looked at these pictures, I never questioned my sweater love.  Then I looked at the photos that Bot had taken and all I could see was how the sweater clung to and accentuated my stomach.

[Jeggings – Old Navy ($10); Sweater – Worthington, J.C. Penny (bought forever ago); Jacket – Lane Bryant ($75); Shoes – Miz Mooz Oxfords ($50); Purse – Marshall’s ($25); Scarf – Florence Street Vendor (15 euros); Bracelet – Grandmother’s Costume Jewelry; Necklace – Made by Me; Earrings – SERRV ($25ish?)]

At first I thought about only posting the second photo, where my purse is covering my “offending” stomach, but that is not what this blog is about.  Its a journey, to be fashionable for one thing, but also to learn to love myself. And lets be honest, my stomach is not offensive, nor would it “disappear” under a more loose sweater. Its all about loving what you have and there are a lot of things that I love about this outfit.

This jacket, for starters, is one of my absolute favorites.  It was a very big purchase for me at $75 but I’ve worn it for a good 3 to 4 years and its still going strong.  Present day Mel probably wouldn’t have bought this piece.  The jacket is unlined, which means that I have to be careful when I take it off since it looks rather sloppy with its exposed seams and shoulder pads.  Also the hem on the sleeves unraveled within the first month of owning it (and I have still not resown it.) But since younger Mel didn’t think about jacket linings, I have been reaping the rewards for over three years.  It has been my go to jacket for spring, fall and even cool summer nights.

This purse was a happy, cheap find at Marshall’s but with a bit of an incident. I had a different, but exactly the same, purse in my hands and then I suddenly changed it for this one thinking it was less scratched up. Unfortunately, I didn’t check to make sure it had all of its pieces, like the longer shoulder strap, before I bought it. When I arrived home I noticed the extreme lack of strap and promptly put the purse back in my car to be returned and there it sat for 4 months, well past the allowable return deadline.  These are the woes that fill my shopping life. I have a tendency to not return things by the given deadline and I’m stuck with them and out the money. Luckily for me, my brother had an almost matching shoulder strap which he gave me to use and now I have a new purse.

The moral of this post? Always love yourself and make sure that you actually return things ON TIME.

Leave a Reply

