New York, New York, Here I Come

This week I’m visiting the bright lights of New York City for the first time ever. I know, I know, it is kind of blasphemy that I’ve lived in Virginia for the majority of my life and haven’t been to the Big Apple.  One of my best friends has been living there for three years and I haven’t been to see her yet.  It is tragic, I know. Since I am finally working on remedying this fact, all I can think about is what I want to do and see in the city.

It might surprise you that my daydreams have little to nothing to do with fashion or shopping.  I figure I would share with you my top things to do in New York, in case any of you will be in town this week and looking to escape the crowds of Mercedes Benz Fashion Week.

  1. Visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art – Not only is it one of the best museums in the world but it also currently has an exhibit on Renaissance Portraiture. Take a break from 21st century ideals of glamor and beauty to admire the lushly painted brocades and fantastic hair styles of the 15th.
  2. Take time to savor some really great coffee – find a local, Italian run coffee shop.  I’m told that the quality of the espresso is directly proportional to the number of old Italian men in the store.
  3. Visit the Cloisters – Yes, I’m staying within the Met family here but honestly after all of that rushing to and fro wouldn’t it be nice to chill in a very peaceful place for a few hours? And bonus, I bet you could take some excellent outfit photos there.
  4. Visit the Frick Collection – Are you shaking your head in dismay at yet another museum? Well, before you give up on me consider that the Frick is currently showing an exhibit about Renoir’s full-length paintings.  Not only are Renoir’s portraits my favorite thing about Impressionism, but comparing the impressionist ladies clothing to the outfits walked on the runway that day could make for an engaging and probably hilarious afternoon.
  5. Take in a Show – I am going to get all glammed up and see Il Barbiere di Siviglia, at the Met, with my best friend. If you are not a fan of opera then head to Broadway, or Off-Broadway or one of the thousand other performances that will be happening this weekend.

I’ll see you all next week with some post for NY.

Leave a Reply

