My Night with the Barber of Seville – A Met Opera

For my last night in NYC, S. and I got all glammed up and went to see a Met Opera, the Barber of Seville.  It was quite an experience, and not just the part where we were waiting for the D train for 20+ minutes at 1am.  There is something absolutely magical about going to see a live performance: the anticipation on the train, the bright lights of the theater contrasting with the dark night, and most of all the music itself.  This was only my second opera ever, so I was a very lucky novice who got really cheap student seats in the orchestra.  Beyond that, since it was the beginning of fashion week, the excitement and joy in Lincoln Center was almost palpable as we scurried passed the fashion week tents.

The opera itself was very good! Our soprano, Diana Damrau, was absolutely amazing.  She was somehow able to very convincingly channel a love sick sixteen year old Spanish girl while clearly being German and not sixteen.  I was also delighted to find that I knew a lot of the music already, but then again Bugs Bunny always did have a thing for Opera.

Not the best picture, but it was 2:30am and we had just walked a half a mile through the Bronx...

[Dress – Kiyonna ($69); Cardigan – City Chic ($15); Tights – We Love Colors (gift from MIL); Shoes – Madden Girl ($30); Earrings – Sailor Studios (gift from a friend)]

To the opera, I wore my Kiyonna Pin Up Boudoir Lace Dress that I bought last October when Kiyonna was having a 50% off sale.  I had not worn it yet but I knew the elegant black lace would be the perfect for the occasion. (Kiyonna doesn’t appear to stock this particular dress anymore, but they do have this one, which is its twin, a twin with sleeves.)  I paired it with my City Chic Bow Shoulder cardigan because I thought the black and red would look elegant together.  This was the outfit that I had in mind when I decided to pack this red sweater instead of my usual black cardigan.  It was pretty much the perfect outfit, beautiful and very comfortable to sit in for over 2 hours while we watched the performance.  My only complaint is that I didn’t wear enough layers so our late night walk through the Bronx was freezing!  Also, my Madden girl heels need some serious help now. I wore through the caps on my heels and now the pins are visible. At least I now have an excuse to get a new pair of black heels…

6 thoughts on “My Night with the Barber of Seville – A Met Opera

  1. Very cute! I love the lace dress, and I used to own a similar one from Kiyonna, but it was lined in a tan color. I think I was 16 or 17 when I went to NYC, and I didn’t go to an opera, but I did get to see a show on Broadway. It truly was a magical experience. The only bad thing is I went with a school group, and we were all so exhausted from a full day of touring and being herded here and there that some of us started falling asleep during the performance. Ridiculous! haha Glad you had a great time.

    • Oh, a show on Broadway sounds wonderful! Falling asleep during the performance, a little less so. Haha. I’ll have to go see a Broadway show next time I visit NYC, but I guess I should drink a lot of coffee beforehand, just in case. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I’m such a fan of you and yours!

    • Yes, better Opera pictures would have been nice. Well, the one with the two of us is better but I wasn’t sure how you would feel about having your photo up. I guess I could have asked. I had so much fun, I want to come visit you again right now, that’s okay right? It’s not like you have to work and research or plan a wedding or anything, you can just spend your time wandering around the city with me. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Kiyonna, A Love Story « Full Bodied Fashion

Leave a Reply

