Spring is Here – OOTD

It has been one of those weeks where the schedule at the coffee shop breaks down (this time due to a coworker in the ER) so my schedule has been changing daily, sometimes hourly.  Which means that when both Bot and I had Wednesday off and no one had called me to cover a shift by 10am we decided to throw on some clothes and head OUT.  Where did we go? To get coffee of course but at a different store.

[Tank – Torrid ($8); Sweater – Target (bought forever ago); Jeans – Torrid, Source of Wisdom ($54.50); Heels- Target ($30); Bag – Marshalls ($25ish)]

This is one of those adventure outfits, made up of things that I don’t particularly like from my closet (these skinny jeans and tank top) paired with some of my favorites (this sweater and my nude wedges).  These skinnies are not my favorite, they are the Torrid Source of Wisdom Black Skinny Jeans as opposed to my much preferred Tripp NYC ones.  If I had not, in typical Mel fashion, not gotten around to returning my too large Tripp NYC black skinnies until WAY after the return time frame I would not own these.  After a not so pleasant customer service experience, I picked up these jeans and headed home. When I got home that day and tried them on, I knew right away that I didn’t (and still don’t) like the way they fit.  For skinny jeans they are not quite skinny enough in the leg and calf for me and they sort of bunch around my knees in a weird way.  But there was no way that I was driving another hour and a half to the Torrid store to return another pair of black skinny jeans so I decided to suck it up and keep them.  They now function as slightly nicer “lay around the house” pants and I would have worn my Tripp Skinnies for this excursion except they were in the wash.  The moral of this story is don’t be like me, if you don’t like something or it doesn’t fit, return it right away! Even if you have to pay for return shipping or drive a ways back to the store, it will be worth it in the end.

Now don’t get me wrong, This top is adorable, I wouldn’t have bought it if it were not, even at $8.  It is just the shape of it that drives me crazy.  The tank is basically a tube top with adjustable spaghetti straps added on, and even a bra-like lining, as if a girl with a chest big enough to fill out this shirt would go bra-less, come on Torrid, lets get real.  My qualms are that I have to wear a strapless bra to wear this shirt and I hate, hate, HATE strapless bras.  I have yet to find one that is supportive and doesn’t just smush everything down and out of place, completely ruining my shape.  The one I’m wearing here is the Multi-Way Strapless Bra by Cacique but I had to size down a cup size to get it to work even this well.

Then again, after all that complaining, I think this outfit looks really nice. I think I’ll try to recreate it another time with my other skinnies and see if I like it even more.

One thought on “Spring is Here – OOTD

  1. Pingback: New Blue Shirt – Two Ways « Full Bodied Fashion

Leave a Reply

