New Blue Shirt – Two Ways

The moment I put on this Old Navy Blue sleeveless top I knew it was coming home with me. I tried to put it down, walk away but I could not resist.  You might not have noticed but I have seriously curtailed my shopping this year.  Well my purchasing, at least. This blue shirt (and its purple twin which also came home with me) were the second purchase I made this year at all.  (My first was the pair of $13 cat-eyed sunglasses I wore in this post.)  All in call I’ve spent around $53 on fashion thus far, this year and considering that we are a quarter of the way through the year, I’m going to call that a victory.

[Shirt – Old Navy ($20); Jeans – Torrid ($45); Flats – Urban Outfitters ($9); Necklace- Made by Me]

This is how I imagined wearing this shirt when I picked it up at the store.  It is so lightweight and silky feeling, the perfect shirt for summer. I absolutely love it.  It does make me think how cyclical fashion is though. I’m pretty sure that my mom had a shirt very similar to this in the early 90s (only in real silk) and I made fun of her for wearing it.  I hated the silly breast pockets and the way she tucked it into skirts and pants.  Which leads me to the second outfit.

[Shirt – Old Navy ($20); Skirt – Old Navy ($30, last summer); Heels – Target ($30); Necklace and Bracelet – Grandmother’s Costume Jewelry; Earrings – Ten Thousand Villages ($10)

This outfit is kind of shapeless.  Yet, I still think I like it.  The weather in Virginia in the last week has been absolutely crazy, getting into 80s° F.  When it gets unexpectedly hot in the middle of March, the only thing that one can do is wear the most summer clothes possible in anticipation of the bright shiny days to come. Bot pointed out that this outfit is very Greek colored, which is true. It reminds me of the beautiful colors of the Greek Islands.  I actually bought this skirt last summer to replace my favorite white a-line skirt which I practically wore to pieces the summer I visited Greece.

I think this shirt has a bright (yep, that’s a pun) future in my summer wardrobe. I see this shirt with a pair of green pants (which I am still determined to find) and belted over some of my strapless sundresses. What do you think? Do you have a summer “uniform” planed?

Leave a Reply

