Casual Friday – OOTD

My new job does not have a very strict dress code. I was told that they are on the “casual side of business casual.”  Since I am only a temp who is hoping to land a more permanent position, I do not indulge in these relaxed rules regularly.  But the other Friday (which is, believe it or not, even more casual in my office) I decided maybe I could make my trouser jeans into a casual Friday outfit while still looking a bit polished and professional.

Okay, so I didn’t have to include this image but how hilarious is that pose? Where do I come up with this stuff?

[Top – Talbots (gift from MIL); Jeans – Talbots ($25); Cardigan – Banana Republic Factory Store ($25); Heels – Calvin Klein via Nordstrom Rack ($70); Necklace – gift from friend; Headband – NY&Co($10?)]

I think this outfit came out really well.  My Mother-in-Law sent me this lovely Talbots shirt the other week. I had tried it on when we went shopping together last month but I wasn’t ready to commit to it. The problem is that tunics don’t normally get along with my body shape. I am not the biggest fan of flow-y, drap-y tops and usually for a tunic to fit over my hips it is crazy billowy up around my shoulders and chest.  This top is from the Talbots Women’s Petite range and I think it is actually suppose to fit longer, a more tunic length. I, however, love how it looks. How great is the sash? Since it’s made from the same fabric it draws your attention to the smallest part of my waist without being too jarring.

This Banana Republic cardigan is on constant rotation in my outfits.  If I’m not wearing a blazer to work there is a 50% chance that I am wearing this sweater instead. What can I say, sometimes you find your cardigan soul-mate.

Sorry about the coloring in these pictures.  We took these shots after Bot and I went to happy hour to celebrate his promotion and my new job and we were rapidly loosing the light.  I’d love to say that I’m not really that pale, but I actually really am.

4 thoughts on “Casual Friday – OOTD

    • Thanks, that is quite a compliment! It is crazy how differently I think/create outfits now that I’m focused on being office appropriate. I can’t wait to see how you style a work outfit. Congratulations again on graduating! I remember the feeling of turning in my MA thesis, I hope you are still riding the high from it.

Leave a Reply

