Kiyonna, A Love Story

This is a love story that started quite a long time ago. I had been watching Kiyonna’s clothing from a far; I looked, I lusted and fell in love. Then something magical happened – Kiyonna had a 50% off sale. So last October, I finally splurged and bought two Kiyonna dresses, but it took me months to wear them. (I wore the other dress to the Met Opera a few months ago.)

[Jemma Ruched Dress – Kiyonna ($54); Camisole – Old Navy ($10ish); Heels – Calvin Klein via Nordstrom Rack ($70); Necklace – Lia Sophia (?)]

I haven’t been feeling that great about myself lately.  Self-acceptance/ self-love is a journey and sometimes you are at a high point and sometimes low.  Lately I’ve been feeling like I’m stuck in a valley and when it came time for Bot and I to get ready to go meet our friends for drinks on Friday night I was ready to cancel. Then Bot gave me the saddest puppy dog eyes ever and I headed to my closet to find something to wear.  I pulled out my Jemma Ruched Dress by Kiyonna, that I had yet to wear, and decided that since it was Memorial day it was thus totally appropriate to wear a bright red, vintage inspired dress. No exaggeration, the minute I put on this dress my day changed. Why did it take me so long to wear this amazing, beautiful, mood-altering dress? To me, this is what plus-size fashion should do, make you feel absolutely beautiful even on days when your self-confidence is at it lowest.

I was day-dreaming about this dress yesterday as Bot and I drove an hour north to go apartment hunting in Maryland. Really, I cannot say enough great things about it. The quality of it is amazing: fully lined, well made, beautifully cut and best of all, it fits me perfectly!  I have so many items in my closet that I bought because they were cheep and they kinda worked.  Yet, with most of those clothes, I’m severely limited: one top can only be worn with a high-waist skirt because it doesn’t fit on my stomach or another has to always be worn with a jacket or sweater because the armholes are too large and show my bra.  But this Kiyonna dress fit like it was tailor-made for me.

As we are driving, Bot and I were discussing the dress and it’s amazing ability to completely shift my mood and I shouted, “Why do I have anything else in my closet? I should own all of their clothes!”  Bot reminded me of one of my first blog posts when I wrote, “I am a firm believer that wardrobe essentials are worth spending extra precious dollars on because you will wear them again and again.  So consider these things carefully when you purchase- don’t be fooled by inexpensive items, because one day they might be sitting in your closet with their price tag still on.” The truth is that Kiyonna’s clothing is a bit expensive for me.  I have to save up for and splurge on their pieces.  (Their dresses are normally around $100 and their separates around $50.) But knowing how this dress fits and feels, that is exactly what I am going to do.  Plus they have a great sale section and often have holiday sales (like right now when you get 25% off for Memorial day.)

4 thoughts on “Kiyonna, A Love Story

  1. Wow, you look fantastic in that dress. Its great to have a dress that just makes you feel wonderful, that you know you can put on and feel great in. I agree, sometimes it’s good to save up your money and splurge on an item of clothing that is great, sure cheap clothes can be great, but perfect clothing is always worth that little extra.

    • Thanks Lady! You are so right! There are some great aspects about cheap clothes, like how they are cheap and let you try out trends or styles that you wouldn’t if you had to spend more. I think I need to work on gathering a few more of those “perfect” pieces in my wardrobe. I guess I better start saving now.

Leave a Reply

