How to Dress for a Summer Hootenanny

If you’ve hung around these parts for a while, then you’ve probably heard that one of my best friends is getting married this summer. She is having a very small wedding in Texas so my friend Jess and I decided to throw her and her fiance a party here in Va.

The party had a hootenanny theme with music playing from an ipod (lots of Iron Horse covers of Shins and Modest Mouse songs), plenty of great food (including pies), paper flags, mason jar cocktails, bocce ball, flowers, and tons of time to chat with the happy couple (see how our ideas for the party evolved on my Pin Board here).

[Tank – Old Navy (bought years ago); Jeans – Old Navy ($25); Boots – Old Navy ($15); Headband – Modcloth via Birchbox; Necklace – gift from S.]

I opened my Birchbox last Friday to find this amazing headband from Modcloth. It might be my favorite thing I’ve ever received in my box, which is a bit silly since it is not even a beauty product but its so adorable.  I decided right away to change my Hootenany outfit so I could incorporate the headband. This is what I came up with.

I admit that I did not wear the heeled boots the whole night, I was one of the hostesses after all, which required scampering around a lot. Instead, I grabbed my Birkenstocks to play bocce and fetch drinks. This tank is my go to for hot summer nights, it’s cotton and very light and breezy but happily not sheer.  I cannot say the same for my jeans though, it was entirely too hot to be wearing such tight pants, I was sweating all night.

My number one tip for dressing for a summer hootenanny: comfort is key! Wear loose fitting clothing so you can transition between various activities with ease. I wish I had paired my tank with a pair of cotton shorts or even a maxi skirt, both are comfortable and still allow you to sit in the grass easily and modestly when all of the chairs are taken.

We played a lot of bocce ball! If you are not familiar with the game check it out here. I fell in love with it in Atlanta because one of my favorite bars had a bocce ball court out back. We were lucky because our friend Erik had a full bocci ball set that he brought with him and let us use.  I sipped on a homemade margarita while playing a number of games (I lost every one) so I managed to cross two things off my Summer Checklist.

An action shot! S. and T, the happy couple, are on the right. They had never played bocce before and still beat me…

What do you all think of my hootenanny outfit? What would you wear to a rustic/country themed party or get together? Did you get a modcloth headband in your birchbox too?

P.S.- Feel like trying out Birchbox? Click through my link here to gift me with a referral bonus.

Leave a Reply

